2013 Lefty Driesell Award

APRIL 5, 2013


ATLANTA, GA -- Stony Brook's Tommy Brenton is the recipient of the 2013 Lefty Driesell Defensive Player of the Year award.

"Tommy Brenton was a difference maker on the floor for Stony Brook," ssaid co-founder Angela Lento. "His abilities on the defensive end of the floor was a major reason the Seawolves won back-to-back America East regular season titles.

The Lefty Driesell award is named in honor of coaching legend Lefty Driesell, who is the only person to ever win 100 games at four different Division I schools. He is best known for his time at Maryland, leading the program to the National Invitational Tournament title in 1972 and its second-ever ACC Tournament Championship in 1984. He finished his career at Maryland with a 348-159 record and concluded his career with an impressive 786-394 mark.


Khem Birch (UNLV)
Tommy Brenton (Stony Brook)
Will Cherry (Montana)
Ian Clark (Belmont)
Aaron Craft (Ohio State)
Gorgui Dieng (Louisville)
Jontel Evans (Virginia)
Shane Larkin (Miami)
Zeke Marshall (Akron)
Nerlens Noel (Kentucky)
Chris Obekpa (St. John’s)
Victor Oladipo (Indiana)
Trevor Releford (Alabama)
André Roberson (Colorado)
Durand Scott (Miami)
Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
Michael Snaer (Florida State)
D.J. Stephens (Memphis)
Darius Theus (VCU)
Julian Washburn (UTEP)
Briante Weber (VCU)
Jeff Withey (Kansas)

* Due to a tie in the voting there are 22 players on the team.

The Lefty Driesell Award, given annually to the top defensive player in Division I basketball, is named in honor of the legendary former coach. 
Driesell won 786 games in 41 years at Davidson, Maryland, James Madison and Georgia State. He ranks eighth on the NCAA career Division I coaches victories list and his teams at each stop were known for playing tenacious defense. From 1969-1986 at Maryland, his teams posted a 348-159 record, won two Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles and one tournament title.
Driesell also led Davidson, Georgia State and James Madison to the NCAA tournament, making him one of three coaches to reach the NCAAs with four different programs. His teams won a total of 16 regular season championships and six tournament championships.
The recipient of the 2023-24 award will be announced in April, in Phoenix, AZ site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

The Lefty Driesell award is presented annually to the top defensive player in division I college basketball, as voted on by the award committee.

The 10-member voting committee consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of

The award is presented annually at the site of the men's Division I NCAA basketball championship. 

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image