About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2107 Lefty Driesell Award

April 4, 2017

PHOENIX, AZ -- West Virginia’s Jevon Carter is the recipient of the 2017 Lefty Driesell award, which is presented annually to the nation's top defensive player.
The Mountaineers’ point guard was the key ingredient on one of the nation’s most aggressive defensive teams. Carter, a solidly built 6-2, 200 pound junior, applied fierce ball pressure and helped Coach Bob Huggins’ squad force turnovers on 27 percent of opponent’s possessions, which led the nation.
Carter led the Big 12 with 2.5 steals per game as part of the “Press Virginia’ attack built around deflections and disruption. The Mountaineers swiped 10 steals per game.
“Jevon Carter plays defense like it’s his girlfriend – he absolutely loves it,” says CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “Few players bring a toughness and a dedication to the defensive end of the floor.”
West Virginia was also fourth in the nation in adjusted defensive efficiency, holding teams to 66.7 points per game.

Driesell won 786 games in 41 years at Davidson, Maryland, James Madison and Georgia State. He ranks eighth on the NCAA career Division I coaches victories list and his teams at each stop were known for playing tenacious defense. From 1969-1986 at Maryland, his teams posted a 348-159 record, won two Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles and one tournament title.
Driesell also led Davidson, Georgia State and James Madison to the NCAA tournament, making him one of three coaches to reach the NCAAs with four different programs. His teams won a total of 16 regular season championships and six tournament championships.


Jaylin Airington CSU Bakersfield
Dakarai Allen San Diego State
Ehab Amin Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Jordan Bell Oregon
Tim Bond Eastern Michigan
Chris Boucher Oregon
Devontae Cacok UNCW
Jevon Carter West Virginia
Joseph Chartouny Fordham
Tacko Fall UCF
Ethan Happ Wisconsin
Tra-Deon Hollins Omaha
Ben Lammers Georgia Tech
Paris Lee Illinois State
Reggie Lynch Minnesota
Hassan Martin Rhode Island
Tahjere McCall Tennessee State
Chazz Patterson Saint Peter's
Joe Rahon Saint Mary's
Khyri Thomas Creighton
Liam Thomas Nicholls State
Isaiah Wilkins Virginia
Jay Wright UL Lafayette
Sindarius Thornwell South Carolina
Derrick White Colorado


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.