About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Lefty Driesell Award

Virginia's Darion Atkins accepts the 2015 Lefty Driesell award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016

HOUSTON, TX  -- Valparaiso's Vashil Fernandez is the recipient of the 2016 Lefty Driesell National Defensive Player of the Year.

Fernandez led the nation in blocked shots with 119, which is the top single-season mark in Horizon League history. The 6-foot-10 senior is also the only player in League history to be named Defensive Player of the Year for a second straight season.
He blocked five or more shots in 12 games this season, including tying his own single-game record with eight rejections in the first round of the NIT against Texas Southern.
Fernandez was the anchor of Valparaiso stingy defense, which was one of the best in all of division I college basketball. 
Driesell won 786 games in 41 years at Davidson, Maryland, James Madison and Georgia State. He ranks eighth on the NCAA career Division I coaches victories list and his teams at each stop were known for playing tenacious defense. From 1969-1986 at Maryland, his teams posted a 348-159 record, won two Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles and one tournament title.
Driesell also led Davidson, Georgia State and James Madison to the NCAA tournament, making him one of three coaches to reach the NCAAs with four different programs. His teams won a total of 16 regular season championships and six tournament championships.


Mo Alie-Cox 6-7 Jr. VCU
Joel Bolmboy 6-9 Sr, Weber State
Tim Bond 6-7 So. Eastern Michigan
Chris Boucher 6-10 Sr. Oregon
Malcolm Brogdon 6-5 Sr. Virginia
Jevon Carter 6-2 So. West Virginia
Alex Caruso 6-5 Sr. Texas A&M
Gary Clark 6-7 So. Cincinnati
Charles Cooke 6-5 Jr. Dayton
Kris Dunn 6-4 Jr. Providence
Patricio Garino 6-6 Sr. George Washington
Vashil Fernandez 6-10 Sr. Valparaiso
Yogi Ferrell 6-1 Sr. Indiana
A.J. Hammons 7-0 Sr. Purdue
Tra-Deon Hollins 6-2 Jr. Omaha
Prince Ibeh 6-10 Sr. Texas
Khadeem Lattin 6-9 So. Oklahoma
Hassan Martin 6-7 Jr. Rhode Island
Frank Mason III 5-11 Jr. Kansas
Tahjere McCall 6-4 Sr. Tennessee State
Jeremy Morgan 6-5 Jr. Northern Iowa
Mamadou Ndiaye 7-6 Jr. UC Irvine
Agunwa Okolie 6-8 Sr. Harvard
Gary Payton II 6-3 Sr. Oregon State
Justin Roberson 6-1 Sr. UL Monroe
Skylar Spencer 6-10 Sr. San Diego State
Brandan Stith 6-5 So. Old Dominion
Rashawn Stores 5-10 Sr. Manhattan
Justin Tuoyo 6-10 Jr. Chattanooga
Tyler Ulis 5-9 So. Kentucky


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.