About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2015 Lefty Driesell Award

Virginia's Darion Atkins accepts the 2015 Lefty Driesell award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 3, 2015

INDIANAPOLIS, IN  -- Virginia's Darion Atkins is the recipient of the 2015 Lefty Driesell National Defensive Player of the Year.
The Lefty Driesell award is named in honor of coaching legend Lefty Driesell, who is the only person to ever win 100 games at four different Division I schools. He is best known for his time at Maryland, leading the program to the National Invitational Tournament title in 1972 and its second-ever ACC Tournament Championship in 1984. He finished his career at Maryland with a 348-159 record and concluded his career with an impressive 786-394 mark.


Karl-Anthony Towns 6-11 Fr. Kentucky
Darion Atkins 6-8 Sr. Virginia
Gary Bell Jr. 6-2 Sr. Gonzaga
Malcolm Brogdon 6-5 Jr. Virginia
Willie Cauley-Stien 7-0 Jr. Kentucky
Rakeem Christmas 6-9 Sr. Syracuse
Kyle Collinsworth 6-6 Jr. BYU
Tekele Cotton 6-3 Sr. Wichita State
Demarcus Daniels 6-7 Jr. North Florida
Nnanna Egwu 6-11 Sr. Illinois
Jerian Grant 6-5 Sr. Notre Dame
Jelani Hewitt 6-2 Sr. Georgia Southern
Anthony Hickey 5-11 Sr. Oklahoma State
Brice Johnson 6-9 Jr. North Carolina
Reggie Lynch 6-10 So. Illinois State
T.J. McConnell 6-1 Sr. Arizona
Jordan Mickey 6-8 So. LSU
Shonn Miller 6-7 Sr. Cornell
Larry Nance, Jr. 6-8 Sr. Wyoming
Josh Richardson 6-6 Sr. Tennessee
Richard Ross 6-6 Sr. Old Dominion
Justin Tuoyo 6-10 So. Chattanooga
Corey Walden 6-2 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Julian Washburn 6-8 Sr. UTEP
Briante Weber 6-2 Sr. VCU
Jay Wright 6-1 So. UL-Lafayette


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.